Some of my favourite quotes.

Collection of quotes I probably should remember:

“All I want is a good home and a wife/ and a children, and some food to feed them every night” – Gil Scott Heron

 

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: first, by reflection, which is noblest; second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third, by experience, which is the most bitter.” – Confucius

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a great battle.” – Philo of Alexandria

At some thoughts a man stands perplexed, above all at the sight of human sin, and he wonders whether to combat it by force or by humble love. Always decide: ‘I will combat it by humble love.’ If you resolve on that once for all, you can conquer the whole world. Loving humility is a terrible force: it is the strongest of all things, and there is nothing else like it.”-Zosima (from Starets, by Fyodor Dostoyevsky)

” the more the world puts in my mouth, the less I feel like chewing it ” – I Think I’m Going To See You by Showbread ” Everyone cries out your name as the world is raped by selfishness ” – Fear of God by Showbread.

“Paul Edgecomb: On the day of my judgment, when I stand before God, and He asks me why did I kill one of his true miracles, what am I gonna say? That is was my job? My job? John Coffey: You tell God the Father it was a kindness you done. I know you hurtin’ and worryin’, I can feel it on you, but you oughta quit on it now. Because I want it over and done. I do. I’m tired, boss. Tired of bein’ on the road, lonely as a sparrow in the rain. Tired of not ever having me a buddy to be with, or tell me where we’s coming from or going to, or why. Mostly I’m tired of people being ugly to each other. I’m tired of all the pain I feel and hear in the world everyday. There’s too much of it. It’s like pieces of glass in my head all the time. Can you understand? Paul Edgecomb: Yes, John. I think I can.”

-The Green Mile

” A man can no more diminish God’s glory by refusing to worship Him than a lunatic can put out the sun by scribbling the word, ‘darkness’ on the walls of his cell. ”

-CS Lewis

“Father God, I am clay in your hands, Help me to stay that way through all life’s demands, ‘Cause they chip and they nag and they pull at me, And every little thing I make up my mind to be, Like I’m gonna be a daddy whose in the mix, And I’m gonna be a husband who stays legit,”

-Lose My Soul by tobyMac

” Delia : Prison was hell for you, Marv. It’ll be life this time. Marv : Hell? You don’t know what hell is. None of you people do. Hell isn’t getting beat up or hauled in front of some faggot jury. Hell is waking up every God damn morning and not knowing why you’re even here. Why you’re even breathing. That’s what hell is and I’m finally out. It took somebody who was very kind to me getting killed to do it but I’m out. I know exactly why I’m breathing. I know exactly what I’m doing. ”

– A Hard Goodbye by Frank Miller

” And in my best behavior I am really just like him. Look beneath the floorboards for the secrets I have hid. ”

– John Wayne Gacy Jr by Sufjan Stevens

“Loneliness and solitude are two things not to get confused ’cause I spend my solitude with you.”

– “Therapy” by Relient K

“I hear so many Christians murmuring about their imperfections and their failures and their addictions and their shortcomings. And I see so little war. Murmur, murmur, murmur, why am I this way…..MAKE WAR!”

– John Piper

“Few men are sufficiently discerning to appreciate all the evil they do.”

– La Rouchefocauld

“No, heaven’s not a place that you go when you die It’s that moment in life when you touch her and you feel alive”

– “The Tide” by The Spill Canvas

“If we consider the unblushing promises of reward and the staggering nature of the rewards promised in the Gospels, it would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered to us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.” – CS Lewis.

“They rap for the dollar, but I rap for the change” -Sho Baraka “Oh Well”

“I hate you, for every time I meet you, you let me see who I am” – Alcibiades to Socrates in Symposium.
I want you to be free from anxieties. The unmarried man is anxious about the things of the Lord, how to please the Lord. But the married man is anxious about worldly things, how to please his wife, and his interests are divided. And the unmarried or betrothed woman is anxious about the things of the Lord, how to be holy in body and spirit. But the married woman is anxious about worldly things, how to please her husband. I say this for your own benefit, not to lay any restraint upon you, but to promote good order and to secure your undivided devotion to the Lord.
I Corinthians 7:32-35

“And they to me. Ellen, only last night, asked, “Daddy, when will we be rich?” But I did not say to her what I know: “We will be rich soon, and you who handle poverty badly will handle riches equally badly.” And that is true. In poverty she is envious. In riches she may be a snob. Money does not change the sickness only the symptoms. – John Steinbeck from “The Winter of Our Discontent.

About JN
what happened to dignity / never see it on MTV.

Leave a Reply

