The Purity in Silence

Why do we fear silence so much? 

As part of my university studies, I have to do readings, a lot of them I might add. I mean, I read a lot for recreation: Dickens, Hardy, Wilde, and Wharton are among my favourites — but to be forced to read a book on architectural theory is somewhat dull to me. There is this one book I am reading though, from a French author called Henri Bosco that gave me the idea for this weblog.

“There is nothing like silence to suggest a sense of unlimited space. Sounds lend color to space, and confer a sort of sound body upon it. But absence of sound leaves it quite pure and, in the silence, we are seized with the sensation of something vast and deep and boundless. It took complete hold of me and, for several moments, I was overwhelmed by the grandeur of this shadowy peace.” — Henri Bosco in “Malicroix”

One thing that really mystifies me is in church service that I have sat through, people always have to fill the Holy Communion with the noise of some sort. Whether it be the voice of a soloist, or the gentle strumming of a guitar. There is this almost fear of silence in the church service that might cause the rapture to occur or something like that. Yet, I think that Bosco has something insightful in what he expounds on about silence. There is something unlimited and so solitary within silence that takes and surrounds us.

Where the world defiles us with noise whether visually or aurally — daily we are struck with images which we cannot forget, news of earthquakes and the cries of despair, forest fires and the crackling sound of the American Dream. Being barraged with such noise, often leaves us indifferent in our lives. I don’t know, I for one, am absolutely sick of all the earthquake news of the past month. FFH in their song, “Listen” (parts of which I don’t totally agree with) puts it poignantly:

“Voices are everywhere, and they’re screaming at us: use me, buy me, believe me. We’ve got voices all over our culture: chat rooms, commercials, billboards, and bumper stickers, and they all want our immediate attention.”

The song goes on to expound on the personal nature of our relationship with God, compared to the disconnection of ourselves through media. But, anyway, there is so much we can do personally, but so little that would not become part of the “noise” of life. There is a fine fine line between being a voice in the thousands and the audience of one. Within this world, there is only so much we can accomplish without listening to the one voice which matters: God’s voice; After all, whatever we put our hands to is insufficient if it is not according to what God has willed us to do. It seems that silence often takes the backseat over reactions with the best intentions. in Exodus 14:14 it says the following:

“The LORD will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.”

The context being the Israelite nation had just left Egypt, and the Egyptians are suddenly chasing after them. They had just crossed the Red Sea, and they see the Egyptian army coming up close behind them, fear began to inset upon them. But what Moses tells the Israelite nation to be, is silent. There was no call to arms, to shed blood – but God would fight for their nation.

So often today I am like the Israelites – with the best intentions but without silence I don’t understand how small the situation is to God. I pray continually that my eyes would be open to the angels protecting and controlling every situation as in 2 Kings with Elisha and his servant. I pray that I would not become the noise, but I would be silent, so people may see the true expanse of an omnipotent God. I hope to be overwhelmed by the grandeur of this shadowy peace, that I would not forget my own futility and the power of Christ.

“Loneliness and solitude are not two things to be confused, because I spend my solitude with You” – Relient K

About JN
what happened to dignity / never see it on MTV.

Leave a Reply

