Dear Hipster Church,

So many thoughts I am likely not allowed to put on facebook. So, WordPress is in for a treat today! A early Christmas special as you would have it. ^__^

1. We Get It.

You love Jesus, we get it. You love others, we get it. However, it’s confusing when you treat Jesus and His words so flippantly.  It’s confusing when He’s merely “the man upstairs”, or “big bro in heaven”. I don’t really understand this Jesus you guys have placed your faith and hope, and ultimately laid down your life for. It’s confusing the obtuseness of your theology and lack of clarity in soteriology.

For this, I really respect the Muslim friends I have. They have a strong religious fervour, of which, I do not admittedly possess. It’s confusing when you don’t understand Jesus at all beyond a vague concept that permeates your social club.

2. Youth

You can judge a church by its youth. Mainly through what form of relationship there is between the youth and eldership of the church. It’s even more confusing when the youth form part of the eldership, or are tasked with leadership and overseeing of anything.

Of these youth, I don’t understand how you can profess to be missional and seeking to make the world a better place when you purchase a 25 kilogram bag of rice for the sole purpose of pranking each other. No one has realised the irony of the deep-rooted affluence? It’s the biggest contradiction I’ve ever seen.

3. The Performance

When you feel the need to take photos and video, you’re no longer at a church, you’re at a concert. You’re attending a performance with a clear relationship between stage and audience, not pulpit and congregation.

band + congregation -> God.

congregation -> band; God. 

You often have dancers up there, spinning and contorting in a range of beautiful positions. The people in the audience often applaud at the end. Simply, I don’t understand how you can justify that this is not a performance. For people, and not for God. I’m sure dishonesty is a sin and man cannot serve two masters.

In short, you’re worshiping the band on stage, while putting God as a distant secondary player. It’s not so much where your heart is at, it’s the stance that reveals the true intent of the heart.

==

The core of the problem is this insatiable need to make everything entertaining and fun. It’s the need to make God “fun”. At the expense of forming God into something that is not offensive or cutting sharp, and at the same time, full of vicarious healing. He inhabits a place somewhere in the middle between “the safety of the boat and the crashing waves”.

The God that I follow is in stark relief against this fun and exciting God, He moves in different ways that I often don’t know how to explain. It’s more mysterious, and I’m okay with that. It doesn’t have to be appropriate or palatable to society, it just is what it is. I don’t really feel the need to temper myself to apologise to society.

For this reason, I often consider that we worship different Gods.

About JN
what happened to dignity / never see it on MTV.

4 Responses to Dear Hipster Church,

  1. marica0701 says:

    A new church opened up in nearby and it more or less advertises similar things in this blog to get visitors.

    I once attended a church (as a visitor) that was like this, and it was so uncomfortable, and I didn’t get anything out of the service spiritually.

    Excellent post! 🙂

  2. marica0701 says:

    Oh, by the way, I was wondering what your opinions are of Pope Francis. Just curious, and maybe an idea for your next post? 🙂

    • JN says:

      I really like Pope Francis. He seems like the most genuine Pope in recent memory. Certainly with what he has done in terms of bringing transparency to the Papal system, and his humble style of living.

      I think it’s a good step towards establishing some form of reputation for Catholicism after the child sex scandal cover ups and whatnot. Unfortunately, I’m not Catholic–so I don’t care so much. 🙂

  3. Kameron says:

    Reblogged this on Snowed In and commented:
    Since I am again feeling like I have less time to write than I should, I am reblogging this post from a a friend. I echo his sentiments about the hipster church and the millennial energy that doesn’t have too much direction. I’m not sure what he’s talking about with the bag of rice in the second paragraph there, but I do agree that a church that is all youth is going to be facing some interesting problems. Age segregation is an interesting problem…probably something I’ll discuss in a future post. Anyway, enjoy this and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

